Talk:App Store Review Guidelines

From Pin Eight
Jump to: navigation, search

jehovah.to is down[edit]

Specifically, DNS is returning NXDOMAIN. Any alternatives we can use? Should an interwiki or template be created to facilitate future maintenance? --Eighty5cacao (talk) 06:01, 11 July 2013 (UTC)

That depends on how easily we can find a good mirror of Lynn D. Newton's "Glossary of American English Hacker Theocratese". I found one on Google, but it was a 1.5 MB Microsoft Word file that made AbiWord freeze. (LibreOffice Writer opened it though.) Or, as I'd slightly prefer now, someone could come up with some religion-neutral terminology instead of using Jehovah's Witnesses terminology. --Tepples (talk) 00:02, 12 July 2013 (UTC)
Resolved --Eighty5cacao (talk) 05:39, 24 January 2014 (UTC)

Arbitrary code execution vulnerabilities in emulated games[edit]

If I understand correctly: Nintendo would probably not be allowed to develop an official app to emulate Pokémon Yellow, Super Mario World, or Yoshi's Island, even if appropriate cryptographic security measures were applied to prevent each app from emulating any ROM image other than the one supplied with it. Admittedly, the relevant guideline version is quite a bit older than the discovery of these specific vulnerabilities, and the exploits require precisely-timed input that would be difficult/impossible given iOS input latency. Does this sound about right? Any other comments? --Eighty5cacao (talk) 20:30, 11 August 2013 (UTC) (+ 02:36, 28 January 2014 (UTC))

"Relevant guideline version" is the key here. I'm under the impression that the existence of Codea and Python for iOS shows that this restriction has been loosened to an extent. Besides, a game publisher could add traps to the emulator to stop execution should certain values get written to jump vectors. --Tepples (talk) 21:51, 11 August 2013 (UTC)

A couple questions[edit]

Regarding this edit:

Buy in[edit]

Could you explain how the word "in" you added is grammatically correct? Does this have something to do with the term "buy in" as it is usually defined? --Eighty5cacao (talk) 05:36, 24 January 2014 (UTC)

Resolved. --Eighty5cacao (talk) 16:06, 24 January 2014 (UTC)

Other mobile platforms[edit]

Regarding 3.1: What about non-mobile platforms? Is the definition of "mobile" clarified somewhere? (I did look at said version of the guidelines previously, but I don't have them in front of me at the moment.) --Eighty5cacao (talk) 05:36, 24 January 2014 (UTC)

I believe Apple's intent was to cover Android, BlackBerry, and Windows Phone, but an app reviewer in a bad mood could read it to include Game Boy, Game Gear, TurboExpress, Sega Nomad, Nintendo DS, PSP, Nintendo 3DS, and PlayStation Vita. An app reviewer in a really bad mood could check if Ben Heck has made a portable version of a particular console. My ultimate point is that Apple can find an excuse to exclude anything. --Tepples (talk) 14:13, 24 January 2014 (UTC)

Uber and Lyft[edit]

Something I've been meaning to ask for years: Is it worth specifically mentioning Uber and Lyft as examples of the deprecation of the rule that prohibited fleet management and dispatch? --Eighty5cacao (talk) 03:31, 13 February 2018 (UTC)